When your account is closed, you are no longer using Private Box services.
Reasons an account has been closed
There are several reasons that an account could be closed. This includes a customer no longer needing out services, to management decisions. We have listed some of those reasons here below.
Customer account closure
There are times when our customers no longer needs our services, and closes the account themselves.
There are many reasons that people might want to close their account. For example, a traveller is back home and can start getting mail delivered to their home address.
We always appreciate any feedback or suggestions that our customers might have to help improve our services.
Overdue and unpaid account closure
If an account remains unpaid, it is considered no longer in use and the account will close automatically. We will always send multiple emails and notifications to advise when an account is overdue for payment.
28 days after an account has gone into a negative balance, if the account remains unpaid and overdue, it is put into a suspended status.
An account will remain suspended for 28 days, after which if no action has been taken, your account will automatically be closed by our system. Please do contact us if you have any questions about a suspension. We will always work to assist our customers in any way that we can.
A customer has refused to complete the Identity Verification process.
The identity verification process is all part of our compliance with the Anti-Money Laundering and Countering Financing of Terrorism Act 2009.
If you do not complete the verification, then we will unfortunately be unable to continue providing you service, and your account will be closed. This is because there are criminal penalties for Private Box Limited when not complying with this law.
What happens to my mail if my account gets closed?
If you do have mail in your account when your account is closed, then our staff will handle it in the following ways:
Mail that has been scanned will be securely destroyed (as that mail can be considered as having been delivered).
Letters that have not been scanned will be returned to sender (if there are sender details available). If no senders details are available we will hold the mail for 90 days before being disposed of.
The scanned PDF copies of mail will be erased from a closed account. This has two purposes -
1. It protects your information and ensures that there is no way anyone can get access to your old mail.
2. It helps us to save on digital storage space, as it doesn't make much sense to have lots of unused files for lots of closed accounts sitting there doing nothing.
For Parcels, we will contact the original sender to collect the item. If it is not collected within 90 days it will be disposed of.
My account has been closed, but I want to use the Private Box mail services again - can I re-open my account?
You are always welcome to get in touch with us and we will happily re-activate your account at any time.
If your account was closed due to non-payment, we will request that the overdue amount be paid for upon re-activation.
If your account was closed do to an incomplete identity verification, we will ask that you complete the identity verification process.
Please note: If your account has been closed, and you want to re-open your account again later, there is a $25 re-activation fee (This fee can ba waived if you re-activate your account within 30 days of the account closure). You'll need to contact us by emailing us at email@example.com or phone us at 0800 122 335 or for international callers, +64 4 831 1333